Picture
I guess I can get that pedicure now...
"I ran a marathon and all I got was this lousy broken foot." ~ Holly Chisolm

Did I mention the pain in my foot in my previous blog? No? Well, that's what we'll call a case of 'If you ignore it, it will go away' syndrome.

So my foot. The pain started almost immediately after I stopped running. It was a sharp stabbing pain on top of my foot and running down into my big toe. I spent a few days hobbling and complaining but I just chalked it up to "normal marathon pain." I took a week off from running and finally gave my legs a spin around the block yesterday. A few steps in and my foot was screaming at me. Well, me being me, I kept going for a mile and by the time I got home I knew I was in for it. The pain was back and slightly worse. Dr. Google and I determinded that I had a minor stress fracture, or maybe just torn ligaments or a strained muscle.

I decided that since I'm leaving for the beach on Sunday, I should get an opinion from a human with M.D. after their name. Mr. M.D. determined that I have a broken sesamoid bone. He explained that it's not a "normal" bone break and takes a lot longer to heal. I will possibly require surgery if the bones don't fuse back together, and I can absolutely not even think about running for 8+ weeks. That news is just what I wanted to hear, being a runner and all.

After 18 weeks of training, 26.2 miles of blood, sweat and tears, I have been benched from running. But, running is what I do! Besides being a mom, wife, sister, daughter and friend, I RUN. To have that title taken away from me is to take away my hobby, my freedom, my SANITY.* My foot is going on vacation and my heart is going to check into the nearest insane asylum.

*Ok, I know the title of runner isn't being taken away from me. I will always be a runner and I will be running again, soonish. Also, I'll still be here writing about running, even though I won't physically be out there pounding the pavement!

Run Hard,
Run Strong,
Run for You,

Holly

 



6/14/2011 10:13:50 am

Get well, soon!

Eight weeks will be done before you know it!

Reply
6/14/2011 10:53:48 am

Counting down for you already!!! In just over 5 weeks you'll see me.... you'll be well past halfway by then!

Reply
Cristin
6/14/2011 11:54:34 am

I hate this. Everything about it...well except for the picture, because that's just funny! But the actual broken foot, broken spirit thing, I hate beyond words. Love you :)

Reply
Chrissie
6/14/2011 09:44:55 pm

I am super sad you have gone fishin'. If I could find a jogger big enough to fit you I would run you up and down the trail :-) It will be over soon and remember we are here to keep your spirits up!

Reply
Stephanie
6/15/2011 12:04:03 am

I'm so sorry this happened. You ARE ALWAYS A RUNNER whether on the sidelines or pushing one step ahead during 26.2 miles. Rest up and take care of you so you can get back out there. Just one more reason for me to keep moving for others that can't....

Reply
6/15/2011 09:56:19 am

I will run a mile or so for you ;-) Congrats on the marathon... sorry to hear about the foot! Maybe we could catch up one of these days?

Reply



Leave a Reply.