My feeling is that any day I am too busy to run is a day that I am too busy. ~John Bryant
How do you find the balance in life? This is a question I'm not sure I'll ever be able to answer. Each and every single one of my days has a different story. I can't predict what any day is going to look like, and if I try, boy do I find that I get smacked in the face by the unexpected. Each day I just do my best to make time for my kids, my husband, my home and myself. However, that's a lot easier to type than it is to execute.

This morning, I was awoken by my son, Zachary. He came into my room and with a raspy voice and said, "Mommy, I have a headache." I had already barely slept last night because I was keeping an ear out for him. He has been coming down with something and has had a nasty, barking cough. If your child has ever had this cough, you know exactly what I'm talking about. So, at 6:30 this morning I am on auto-pilot. I will have to get him to the pediatrician and he definitely will not be going to school. Our normal routine was skewed and the sun hadn't even come up yet.

After a quick shower, and getting through to the doctor, I got everyone ready to go. Before leaving the house I checked my email, and found a reminder that I'm supposed to catch-up with a friend tonight. Then I turned the corner and saw the 10 loads of laundry in the mud room that I had planned on tackling while Zachary was in school. Also, what's for dinner, who is going to write my blog for tomorrow, scrub the toilets before the health department shuts me down, unload the dishwasher, hide the Halloween candy lest I eat it all, and perhaps, RUN A FEW MILES FOR ME????? It's 8 am and I'm already over my head in tasks that I can't figure out how to balance.

Thankfully, Zachary only has a virus and has been enjoying the comforts of our couch. I have managed to climb over Mt. Laundry and get a few loads shoved into the washer, scrub the offending toilet, get a meal in the crockpot (not in that order though, that would be gross), unloaded and loaded the dishwasher, and I'm half way through this here blog and it's only 2:15! Winning! I did not, however, find a good hiding place for the candy. It's a good thing, as it is fueling me to be awesome this afternoon.

So, balance. Have I found it? I still don't know! I could skip running this evening and enjoy dinner with my family before going to catch-up with my friend. But then, I find I'm lacking an important part of the equation; me time. If I don't do things for myself, who will? I mean, yes, my husband does plenty for me, and the kids give me hugs and awesome messes to clean up to keep me feeling needed. I do need to make my bed with the sheets that are still not washed on the mudroom floor, so that's something for me, I suppose. It's not enough though. If I don't get to put on my running clothes, clear my head and get a little sweaty, I will go to bed feeling lopsided; metaphorically speaking. (Well, unless the 10 tons of candy makes it's way to one ass cheek and not the other).

No matter how exhausted I may be, and how much of myself I give to other people throughout the day, I will always try to achieve balance. The best thing about being a runner is, no matter how many miles long my list may be, I can always run my way to the top of it.

Run Hard,
Run Strong,
Run for You,
Holly
11/1/2011 09:39:11 pm

Perfection.

Reply
Chrissie
11/2/2011 05:38:56 am

Again, you have hit the nail on the head! I understand you completley.

Reply
9/24/2012 12:09:33 am

THX for info

Reply



Leave a Reply.