"Racing teaches us to challenge ourselves. It teaches us to push beyond where we thought we could go. It helps us to find out what we are made of. This is what we do. This is what it's all about."
-PattiSue Plumer, U.S. Olympian
Wow, what a whirlwind those 2 weeks were! I can't believe Christmas
has come and gone and we're in a new year! Before my little hiatus I
issued a challenge for January. I am challenging everyone to get in
 100 miles this month.* Will it be hard? Yes! Will it take commitment?
 Yes! Can it be done? YES!!!!

I did a fair share of running the past 2 weeks. Nothing too insane but
I did up my mileage and add in some pretty hilly courses. My increased
appetite and my sore buttocks are proof of both. I got my long run
back up to 8 miles and I'm hoping to do a 10 miler this Saturday. I'm
feeling pretty positive about my challenge and really looking forward
to getting back into tip top running shape. Marathon training starts
January 30th!!!!

I have been seeing a great deal of fitness goals for the year 2012. It
seems like now, more than ever, people want to get into shape. I have
recruited my mom, brother and sister-in-law to join my 100 mile
challenge and they seem really excited about it. I am hoping this year
I can influence a few people to incorporate fitness into their lives.
I didn't realize how important it was for me to have until I started
running regularly.

If you haven't committed to my challenge or challenged yourself to a
fitness goal, it's not too late! If you haven't been active in awhile,
start out small. You can challenge yourself to be active a few times a
week for 30 minutes. You can challenge yourself to make better food
choices. You can challenge yourself to run all the way up a steep hill
that you've never managed before. Whatever your challenge, or your
goals, make it so you won't fail. Choose things that are hard, but
within your capabilities. Also, try to get a buddy to do it with you.
It's a lot easier when you have someone else holding you accountable.
You can also make it a race - see who reaches the goal faster! Make a
list of your goals and post them where you'll see them often and get
moving!!!

My fitness goals for this year are:

1) To tone up (especially my core)
2) Run 100 miles in January
3) Run 1,000 miles (ore more) for the year
4) Write new, exciting and fun blogs for you fine people :)
5) Lose 10 lbs - the ones that don't want to go away
6) Run and finish my 2nd marathon
7) Run a few other races. Perhaps a fall marathon??

I am so excited to start another year with T2M2R. If there are any
blog topics you would like to see, please let me know! I may not have
all of the answers but I'm pretty good at making stuff up!

Happy New Year 2012!!!

Run Hard,
Run Strong,
Run for You,
Holly




*Disclaimer about the 100 mile challenge. You do NOT have to run all of the miles. The miles can be combined with biking, elliptical, walking and running. Please do not attempt this challenge if you have not been physically active. We don't want to see anyone get hurt! Aim for a smaller goal if you're just starting back up. The number 26.2 has a nice ring to it for a monthly goal :) 




Leave a Reply.