"Keep away from people who try to belittle your ambitions. Small people always do that, but the really great make you feel that you, too, can become great." ~ Mark Twain

When I decided to start training for the San Diego Rock N Roll Marathon, with Team in Training, I never thought about the impact it could have on my family. The time, commitment and obsession that running has on me is something I could have never predicted.

The past 17 weeks of training have had a great impact on me. I live, breathe and sleep with running on my mind. When I'm not out running I am thinking about when I can run; thinking about the weather for my run, how my body feels for my run, who I might be able to con into running with me. TALKING ABOUT RUNNING, NON-STOP. You know you do it, too. Don't try to deny it!

Not only am I training, I am still maintaining a household; being a mom of two and a wife. I still have to clean, grocery shop, get my son to and from his various activities, wipe butts, the list goes on. Juggling these activities hasn't been easy on me. I am caught between the love for my hobby and the guilt for being away from my family for 30 to 40 hours a week. Thankfully, I have a husband who is supportive and pushes me to get out there and run. He realizes when I get my "me" time I am a better wife and mother. He has picked up my slack, filled in where he is needed and gone above and beyond without a single complaint.

I thought training for a marathon would be MY journey. It would be my accomplishment; something I didn't have to share with anyone else. I didn't want to share it with anyone else, I'm sick of sharing! However, in 2 weeks, when I cross the finish line and become a marathon runner, it won't just be MY accomplishment. I will share that success with the person who has believed in me from mile 1. The person who made the mental part of training a piece of cake. The person who really deserves the medal around their neck; my husband, Rich.

Before I get booed out of blog land for being mushy, I urge you all to think about who helps you to achieve your goals, and thank them, profusely. Running is something you do FOR yourself, but training is not something you can do BY yourself.

Run Hard,
Run Strong,
Run for You,

Holly
Picture

5/24/2011 11:07:15 pm

Bravo, Holly! So incredibly true!

Reply
5/25/2011 12:02:22 am

Holly you are awesome, and SO correct! You've been inspiring me for months and now you've inspired me to not forget my husband ;)

Reply
5/25/2011 12:06:50 am

So well written and so true. I'm so glad your husband and family are supporting you in this journey. You're going to rock that race!

<3

Reply
Rich
5/25/2011 12:45:21 am

Great blog sweetie! I agree with Jenn, you are going to rock that race..you've trained so hard and so well for it. I can't wait to see you cross that finish line. :-)

You are certainly an inspiration!

Love!

Reply
Amy MacDonald
5/25/2011 01:06:17 am

Love it! You know I say it all the time - without a supportive husband, the training I've done would have been impossible. A good man is hard to find. A good man who supports his wife's running insanity, and is willing to pick up the slack so she can reach her goals is priceless. You've sure got a good one. Rich is a keeper :)

Reply
Chrissie
5/25/2011 02:12:33 am

Holly, you have inspired so many people. Keep up the good work. I can't wait to hear about your race. Great job Rich! Thank you for being a star husband :-)

Reply
5/25/2011 02:46:48 am

So agree. I often get teary eyed looking at the hubz, knowing how lucky I am that he will take the boys to the bus, will listen to unending discussions of pace and compression socks, and schlep me around to random races. I may be the engine in the race, but my family is the key. Good luck on your race- Im doing the Nike womens in October so I understand the training aspect!

Reply
Erin
5/25/2011 06:28:34 am

Very True!! Love the picture of you and your husband!! And the best part of running that marathon in a few weeks will be having your support system waiting for you at the finish line!!!

Reply
Jen Pilarski
5/25/2011 08:13:12 am

Well said my friend! You have been working really hard and it is impossible without support. I am happy to be a small part of your support village and I am lucky to have you in my little village :)

Reply
Cristin
5/25/2011 09:03:42 am

Awesome blog sir! You are so right about having and NEEDING that support system to take on such an incredibly easy, yet incredibly hard hobby. We've both got amazing ones :)

Reply
Stephanie
5/25/2011 11:45:54 am

No booooing, only cheering! Well said, totally agree!

Reply
Greg Z
5/26/2011 11:55:46 am

My wife is my hero, mentor, and best friend so there is some more mush for you! Great blog!

Reply



Leave a Reply.